1. Aalborg International Composer Competition for Classical Guitar

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Aalborg Guitar Festival

Aalborg Guitar Festival and Competitions invites entries for the Composers’ Competition for the six-stringed classical guitar. The competition has been arranged in collaboration with Bergmann Edition and with the support of the Augustine Foundation (

One of the aims of the competition is to promote new work and enlarge the classical guitar repertoire. The intention is that the composer will meet the guitarist, and the guitarist will meet the audience.

Bergmann Edition is the facilitator of the competition and is, therefore, the point of contact.

General Guidelines and Rules

  • Open to composers of all ages and nationalities.
  • Compositions submitted must be written for solo guitar.
  • Compositions must be written for the six-stringed classical guitar.
  • Alternative tunings are acceptable.
  • Fixed media and/or live electronics are not accepted.
  • Compositions submitted must be no longer than eight minutes.
  • Composers may submit multiple works.
  • Compositions submitted must be previously unpublished (not published by a commercial publishing house).
  • The competition is organized by the society: Aalborg International Guitar Festival & Competitions.
  • The decision of the jury is final. The judging system is an internal system and is not open to public discussion.
  • Remaining regulations: All potential problems and/or situations not covered by the above rules will be decided by the organizers of the competition


Application Deadline: October 15th 2022.

Application Fee: €50 for each work (+ ticket sales fee). Multiple works may be submitted (an additional application fee must accompany each extra work).

Application materials and fees must be submitted and paid online no later than October 15th, 2022, by 11:59 pm.

All submissions to the competition should include the following:

1. First, complete online payment at:

Please make a pdf copy of your payment receipt/ticket, and send it together with your music and mp3 file of your work to: (before October 15th, 2022, by 11:59 pm). Application fees are non-refundable.

2. The pieces must be notated in a music notation program: We accept Finale, Sibelius, Musescore, and Dorico files. We also accept Music.XML files, as long as the XML is readable by one of the four listed applications.*)

*) We can test the readability of the XML file before you join the contest. Send the files to for testing.

  • You must include a recording as an mp3 file of the work, either a live recording or a computer-generated mock-up.
  • All compositions will be anonymized before being presented to the judges.
  • All files must be sent to (before October 15th, 2022, by 11:59 pm).


  • Three prizes will be awarded.
  • 1st prize:
    • The winner will receive a €1,000 prize.*
    • The winning work will be published by “Bergmann Edition”, both on paper and digital.
    • The winning work will be dedicated to the winner of the 1. category.
  • The 2nd and 3rd prizes will be published as print-on-demand.
  • Judges have the right to award all or some of the prizes or none.
  • Winning compositions will be announced at the Award Concert on November 20th 2022, 14.30 and posted online at as well as at:
  • The winner of the 1. prize will receive an email, and €1,000 will be transferred to the winner’s bank account.


The jury will consist of 3 judges. All of them have international experience as a composer, arranger and/or performer.

Chairman of the jury:

Simone Iannarelli, Italy/Mexico.

Composer, guitarist and professor of guitar at the Institute of Fine Arts of the University of Colima in Mexico.

Other Jury members:

Antonio Duro, Spain

Professor at Conservatorio Superior de Música, Manuel Castillo, Sevilla, Spain. Very active in the field of new music and has premiered and performed a myriad of new compositions for classical guitar.

Colette Mourey, France. 

Classical guitarist, music educator, musicologist and composer.

Recordings and Broadcasts

The Aalborg International Guitar Festival & Competition is entitled to take photos, audio and visual recordings of the competition, arrange broadcasts, and distribute these recordings and pictures without any remuneration to the performers concerned.

Leave a Reply

Raiola Networks